Incandescent Tarot
Incandescent Tarot Podcast
August 2024 Monthly Review
2
0:00
-11:23

August 2024 Monthly Review

how did 4/4 major arcana cards work out for you all??
2

Once again, I’m sharing this with everyone, 1) because it’s fun and I’ve never been good at paywalls, and 2) because our entire reading for August was Major Arcana cards. How are you? Still alive? Reeling from profundity? or just plain tired? Let’s talk about it!

Of course, you can press play above (or in your podcast platform of choice) to hear my in-depth thoughts on the cards as they unfolded over the month, but you can also scroll down for some more lighthearted reflections. And get a look at the cards for September.

Speaking of September, I’m having a visceral experience of autumn approaching. Maybe it’s years of internalized back-to-school energy, but this time always seems ripe for preparation, reinvention, and some generalized nervousness. I’m watching the light change here in North Carolina and seeing the first leaves grow tired and change color around the edges. I’m also thinking about how this time marks a new year in some traditions which has always felt instinctively right to me. How have you been experiencing fall and its many transitions?

Oddly and not surprisingly given our cards, I’ve felt like I’ve been in the busy fall season already. August was a blur of work, adventures, and guests. I felt energized and called to do a whole bunch of home projects and yardwork which prompted some spontaneous magic, see below, and left me feeling recentered and reconnected with my home.

when you realize it might be time to burn all that sap you’ve been collecting

So much was happening, in fact, that I didn’t read or watch as much as usual. I did the classic “check out too many intense psychology and non-fiction books from the library” move that leaves me with a stack on my bedside table that I’m too exhausted to read properly. (Me treating my reading like The Hierophant when I really want a steamy beach read a la the Queen of Wands?)

I did honor my need for stupidity by going to see Twisters in the theaters. While an unhinged trailer for a Christmas action movie starring The Rock, Chris Evans, and a horrific muscular CGI polar bear was more jaw-dropping than the movie itself, I thoroughly enjoyed being swept away by frenetic action sequences and oddly chaste romance. In tarot speak, this was absolutely a Seven of Wands meets The Fool scenario.

And in the tarot world, I found myself moving away from personal readings and just letting this massive, honking monthly forecast take center stage. I did, however, keep pulling Strength as a daily draw. I guess some things require emphasis, but at this point I think I’ve gotten the message!

But, to go deeper as we wrap up this recap, having Strength as our opportunity card this past month was such a robust invitation to look at how we’ve been preparing for this moment of transition. Things are about to get more specific in September (which may be a welcome change after our existential deep-dive tour of the major arcana!) and now is a good time to ask ourselves: What is the major issue I’m working on this year?

As usual, please share any insights, experiences, questions, or comments below. I adore hearing from you all and this community has some incredible gems of wisdom! Don’t forget to scroll down for our reflection prompts and our cards for September (you’ll never guess what our first card is…).

Reflection Prompts for August 2024

The Fool

  • Where did you take risks, a leap of faith, or commit to stepping into something new this month?

  • How did you honor your true nature, wishes, and instincts/intuition?

  • What did you learn about who you truly are and how you can begin again?

The Devil

  • What did taking these chances bring up for you?

  • Where did you notice fear, self-sabotage, and harmful thinking in your life?

  • What patterns felt stale, limiting, and old? How did you commit to shedding them?

The Sun

  • Where did you notice yourself pretending to be farther along your path, fine, or fully healed?

  • What did you learn about discerning between important self-growth and keeping up apperances?

  • How did you develop self-trust this month?

Strength

  • When, where, and how did you show up for yourself?

  • What did it feel like to honestly observe and accept difficult parts of yourself, the world, your experiences?

  • What do you know now about your next steps working with these issues?

…and, finally, the cards for September!

Discussion about this podcast

Incandescent Tarot
Incandescent Tarot Podcast
Tarot, magic, and spirituality for modern life